Houndmouth – Live

Hailing from New Albany, Indiana, Houndmouth’s first appearance in Burlington was certainly memorable. “Did you think I’d come all this way in vain?” seemed like an appropriate lyric during their performance of “Hey Rose” – a track from the album From the Hills Below the City. Well, we’re certainly glad they made the trip. You’d be hard pressed to find a more authentic slice of Americana in this day and age. In a world full of insincerity, the group’s genuine vibes run deep like an Indiana coal mine. At one point, the band remarked how pleased they were to be playing an intimate venue again, which isn’t surprising as they seemed right at home at Signal Kitchen. Their sweet, folksy take on rock music combined with an aura of honesty and humility about their characters and lent an energy to the night that could only be described as comforting. The group, formed in 2011, consists of Matt Myers on guitar, Katie Toupin on keyboard, Zak Appleby on bass, and Shane Cody on drums, with all four members contributing vocals.

Set List_

  1. Penitentiary
  2. On The Road
  3. Houston Train
  4. Ludlow
  5. As Long As You’re At Home
  6. Hey Rose
  7. Come On, Illinois
  8. Palmyra
  9. I See My Light Come Shining (Bob Dylan Cover)
  10. By God
  11. Quiet Man (John Prine Cover)
  12. Comin’ Around Again

Audio Credits_

Producers: Alex Lalli, Dave DeCristo
Audio Engineer: Dave DeCristo